Blog header image

Basics Of Hiragana

Quick read · Mon 27 September

Basics Of Hiragana

Hiragana is the first alphabet the Japanese learn. Hiragana is made of characters which carry syllables so is Katakana. Hiragana is easy to spot as it is made of curvy shapes and lines. There are a total of 46 different characters, but don’t worry. There are 5 vowels and the rest are vowel-consonant unions with the exception of ’N’. When writing in hiragana, it’s important to remember the stroke order; otherwise, the characters can look a little lop-sided. You’ll see the characters written in different fonts in the app but the Reference will show you how to handwrite the characters correctly.

Was this article helpful?

Want to learn even more? Start your free Pro trial today.

You learn or relearn even faster and become more confident with a small time investment each day.

Start your free trial
App screenshot